Emmy’s First Birthday

IMG_1275

I had WAY too much fun making decorations for Emmy’s first birthday. I swear I started pinning ideas when she was 6 months old! I found that I was drawn to floral decorations with gold accents. Here are some pictures from her big day!

I ended up planning her decor around  a piece of scrapbook paper. Hobby Lobby was having a sale so I picked up a pack of scrapbook paper for around $10. I pulled the colors from there to pick out the ribbon for her high-chair decoration, along with the pom-pom yarn banner.

I make banners fairly often, so I bought a pin-board banner from Hobby Lobby, and I use the pin board to trace a pattern. I can trace three triangles from one piece of paper. I then cut, mark a spot for the holes to string the ribbon for hanging, and then whole punch! I like to lay out the pieces on the ground trying different combinations. Since I had an entire pack of paper to play with, my banners have several prints. I also picked up a pack of gold letters which I am trying to figure out how to use the rest of the pack… its so cute! Version 3Version 2

For my high chair decoration, I waited for ribbon to go on sale at Hobby Lobby and then went a little crazy! I cut them all the same length, and then looped them around a piece of twine. I made a separate banner and simply taped it over the ribbon decor.

You can see the colors in the floral print (bottom banner, middle piece.) I pulled the colors which included pinks, blues, yellow and grey. I loved finding ribbons that were different in widths and textures.

I loved the idea of using Emmy’s milestone pictures as decor. I kept seeing the yarn pom-poms and decided I had to make them! They were super easy, and something I could do while watching tv.

IMG_1021

I bought cute little clothes pins to hold the pictures. I was surprised at how well this held up. Emmy had 3 celebrations and I transferred her decorations each time.

We had so much fun celebrating our sweet little girl. Let me know what you did to celebrate your little one!

Leave a Reply

